Buzău County Museum website

Katsushika Hokusai and his circle. Masterpieces of Japanese Surimono - Hidden Beauty

Press release

Exhibition of Japanese artwork Surimono “Katsushika Hokusai and his circle. Masterpieces of Japanese Surimono - Hidden Beauty ”


Buzau County Museum, a culture and research institution operating under the authority of Buzău County Council, announces the opening of the international exhibition „Katsushika Hokusai and his circle. Masterpieces of Japanese Surimono - Hidden Beauty ”, curated by Vasilii Chesauri and Alexandru Anghel.

Organized in partnership with Art Expo SIA, from Latvia, the exhibition remains open to the public during the period March 3 - June 5, 2022.

The exhibition project includes 51 graphic works, masterpieces of Japanese art Surimono, made by great masters, such as: Katsushika Hokusai, Totoya Hokkei, Kubo Shunman, Yashima Gakutei, Yanagawa Shigenobu, Ryûryûkyo Shinsai, Katsushika Hokuun, Matora Ōishi, Kitagawa Utamaro, Utagawa Toyohiro and Utagawa Kuninao. There are also two works by the Impressionists, owned by Arsène Alexandre.

The public has the opportunity to meet original surimonos, to see their seemingly hidden beauty, as well as the procedures that were used to create them.

Many embossing techniques and associated visual illusions, applied in surimono materials, require a focused examination of the work as a whole, but also of all its tiny nuances, each containing symbols and constantly complementing the visual sense, constantly enriching it. Surimono is Japan's unique contribution to world culture, and the exhibition demonstrates the unique versatility and beauty of the masterpieces that have survived to the present day.

Visiting hours:

  • 9:00 - 17:00 (October 1 - April 30), last entry at 16:15
  • 10:00 - 18:00 (May 1 - September 30), last entry at 17:15
  • Tuesday - Sunday: open
  • Monday: closed

We look forward to seeing you at the museum!


Buzau County Museum

Buzau County Museum is the main museum institution in Buzau County. Its foundations were laid by Basil Iorgulescu and the development of the collections led to several stages of expansion. The current headquarters is the third. From 1977 until now it is housed in the building of the former Girls' School. The building, built between 1931 and 1937, is included in the list of historical monuments, being one of the most imposing buildings in the city.

The permanent exhibitions were opened here in 1980-1981, being subsequently modified and updated in 1986, 1990, 1999-2001, 2004, 2015-2017. The newest project was implemented after the complete restoration of the building (carried out in the period 2010-2015, based on the financing of 36,906,590 lei / 8,201,464 Euros offered through the Regional Operational Program 2007-2013).

In the 1980s and 1990s, the museum's collections became substantially richer as a result of archaeological research, acquisitions, and donations. In addition to the consistent collections of history and archeology, the museum's fund has grown steadily, enriching itself with valuable goods ethnographical, artist, numismatics and in the field of mineralogy and al natural sciences.

Under the auspices of the institution, a series of books were published ("Mousaios Library"), 2 annual scientific bulletins ("Mousaios" and "Annals of the Buzău”), Catalogs and monographs, fruit of the scientific research activity carried out within the museum institution.

Buy a ticket
Learn more
Font Resize
en_GBEnglish (UK)